2019 Broadband Convergence Convention

Schedule of Events

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Time                                          Event                                    Location

11:00 p.m.-12:30p.m.                  TAM Board Meeting                       (Penobscot Bay Room)

12:30 pm – 1:30 pm                     Joint Associations Board Lunch      (Schooner Room)

1:30 p.m.-2:15p.m.                      TANE annual business meeting       (Penobscot Bay Room)

2:15 p.m.-3:15 p.m.                     NHTA Board meeting                     (Penobscot Bay Room)

3:15 p.m.-4:15 p.m.                     TAV Board meeting                        (Penobscot Bay Room)

5:30 pm – 7:00 pm            Registration & Welcoming Reception      (State of Maine Hall)

                                        Exhibitor Showcase – Exhibit Area         (State of Maine Hall)

                                        ITPA Silent Auction Begins                      (State of Maine Hall)

Coordinated by Suzanne Reed, UniTel

Reception Sponsor: (TBA)

7:00 pm – 8:00 pm            Group Dinner                                             (Bay Point Ballroom)

Dinner Sponsor: (TBA)

8:15 pm                            Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony(Bay Point Ballroom)

Induction of the 2019 Recipient: Laurie Osgood

Sponsored by (TBA)

Coffee and dessert

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Time                                          Event                                    Location

Breakfast Sponsor: (TBA)

7:45 am                            Registration                                                  (State of Maine Hall

8:00 am-8:30                        General Session                     (Knox County Ballroom)

Welcome to Annual Meeting:

Scott Brooks, TAM/TANE President

TDS Telecom Presiding:

National Anthem:

Pledge of Allegiance: Scott Brooks, TAM/TANE President

Invocation: Clarke Kidder, TANE Director

Opening Remarks: Scott Brooks, TAM/TANE President

8:30 am – 9:00 am                                     Keynote


9:00 am – 10:00am            State Economic Review and Broadband discussion

Moderator:-Ben Gilman


Heather Johnson – Commissioner Maine DECD

Carol Miller- Director- NH Division of Economic Development

Ted Brady-VT ED (not confirmed)

10:00-10:15 am                                     Coffee Break

Coffee Break Sponsor: (TBA)

10:15 am – 11:30 am         What’s up in DC?  Where is the money for Broadband?



Mike Romano -SVP NTCA

Aimee Meachan- NTIA

Jenny Moralli- ITTA

11:30-12:30                                           Legislative panel



Sen. Shena Bellows Maine

Rep. Laura Sabilia -VT (not confirmed)

Rep. Patrick Abrami-NH (not confirmed)

12:30-1:30                        Plated Lunch – Exhibit Area   (State of Maine Hall)

Lunch Sponsor:

1:30 -2:00                         5 mins. Each intro and company/organization goals

Franklin County Me – Charles Woodworth

Nicholas Coates Bristol NH-

Chris Recchia – EC fiber VT

Chris Hogdon- Comcast (not confirmed)

Sarah Davis- Consolidated – (not confirmed)

Roger Nishi- Waitsfield and Champlain Valley

2:00 pm – 2:45 pm                                Panel discussion 

Moderator- Bill Hewitt

2:45-3:00                                                   Break

Break Sponsor:

3:00 pm – 3:45        Mark DeFalco- Appalachian Regional Commission                             

3:45 p.m.-4:30 p.m.  Scott A. Oxley President Northern Light Acadia Hospital

Rick Redmond, LCSW Associate Vice President of Community Partnerships and Service Development Northern Light, Acadia Hospital

Drawing for Door Prize

5:45 pm – 7:00 pm           Cocktail Reception                                       (State of Maine Hall)

Reception Sponsor:

7:00 pm – 8:30 pm            Downeast Lobster Bake (Casual Dress) (Knox County Ballroom)

Lobster Bake Sponsor:

8:30 pm                            Casino Night: Wild West!                                   (Camden Room)

Come dressed for the west and get double the chips!

Entertainment Sponsor:

9:30 pm                            ITPA Silent Auction Closes

Thursday, September 12, 2019

Time                         Event                                                Location

~ Note – Hotel Checkout 11:00 am ~

6:30 am – 8:00 am             Breakfast Buffet – Exhibit Area                  (State of Maine Hall)

7:45 am                            Registration                                                  (State of Maine Hall)

General Session – 2nd Day                        (Knox County Ballroom)

8:00 am – 8:30 am                            Opening Remarks:

Introduction of Vendors

8:30 am – 9:15            Matt Dunn -Center for Rural Innovation

9:15 am – 9:30 am                                           Break

9:30a.m.-10:00 –          Northeast Telehealth Resource Center- Reid Plimpton

10:00a.m.-10:30                First Net update ME, NH, VT

David Maxwell- Program Director -ME

10:30a.m.-11:30 a.m.  Broadband Discussion – Private/Public Partnership

Moderator- Ben Sanborn


Carolyn Kirk Mass Tech Collaborative

Peggy Schaffer ConnectME Authority

Clay Purvis- VT Department of Public Service

Scott Brooks- TDS Telecom

Trina Bragdon – OTELCO

Carol Miller NH Division of Economic Development

11:30 am                          Closing      

11:45 am                          Drawing of Door Prize –

TANE / TAM Annual Meeting Committee

Trina Bragdon – Convention Co-Chair

Susan Rand King – Convention Co-Chair

Michael Reed

Suzanne Reed

Ben Sanborn

Jason Gay

April Metivier

Scott Brooks

Kim Gates

Roger Nishi

Clarke Kidder

Telecommunications Association of Maine Board of Directors

Scott Brooks, TDS of Maine– President

Beth Osler, UniTel – Vice President

Megan Harvey, OTELCO – Treasurer

Scott Brooks, TDS

Shirley Manning, Lincolnville & Tidewater

Trina Bragdon, OTELCO

Pam Holley, First Light

Beth Osler, UniTel

Benjamin M Sanborn, Esq. Executive Director

Telecommunications Association of New England Board of Directors

Scott Brooks, TDS – President

Suzanne Reed, UniTel – Secretary

Mark DePerrior, CIT Telecom – Treasurer

Susan Rand, GSC

Chris Rand, GSC

Roger Nishi, WCVT

Kim Gates, FTC

April Metivier, Mountain Limited

Jeffrey Austin, Consolidated

Jason Gay, OTELCO

TANE Staff

Michael Reed – EVP

Clarke L. Kidder – Dir. Admin. Svcs.